The O’Shea Shield, competed for by students from Catholic secondary schools in Wellington archdiocese and Palmerston North diocese, was won this year by St Patrick’s College, Wellington.

The Bishop Viard Memorial Trophy for runner-up went to St Peter’s College in Palmerston North, which hosted the event this year.

Prize winners were: St Catherine’s Cup Debating Best Negative Team: St Joseph’s Maori Girls College (Napier); St Mary’s Cup Debating Best Affirmative Team: Sacred Heart College, Lower Hutt; Te Kaipanui I te Kupu Cup Scripture Reading in Te Reo Māori – Section A: Wharewaiata Rolls, St
John’s College (Hastings); Te Kaipanui I te Kupu Cup Scripture Reading in Te Reo Māori – Section B: Matarena Biiri, Bishop Viard College (Porirua); George Family Cup Junior Prepared Speech Section A: Darcy Donaghy, St Peter’s College; Vaughan Family Cup Junior Prepared Speech Section B: Waaka Poutu, Hato Paora College (Feilding); Cardinal McKeefry Cup Oratory
Section A: Patrick Ryan, St Patrick’s College (Wellington); Bishop Cullinane Cup Oratory Section B: Staines Sathya-Seelan, St Peter’s College; Catherine McAuley Cup Scripture Reading Section A: Amy Krammer, Garin College (Nelson): St Peter Chanel Cup Scripture Reading Section B: Corban Dravitzki, Francis Douglas Memorial College (New Plymouth); Bishop Owen Snedden Memorial Cup Religious Drama: St Bernard’s College (Lower Hutt),
first; Society of Mary Cup Religious Drama: St Peter’s College, second; Sacred Heart Lower Hutt Jubilee Cup Impromptu Speaking Section A: Royce Fitzgerald, St Bernard’s College; Silverstream Cup Impromptu Speaking Section B: Sam Crisp, St Patrick’s College Wellington; Hibernian Cup Religious Questions Section A: St Patrick’s College, Wellington; Mercy Cup Religious Questions Section B: St Catherine’s College; Jubilee Plaque Hosting School for 2020: Chanel College (Masterton).